Home  /  News  /  Album News

NINE INCH NAILS Releasing 5-Song EP 'Not The Actual Events' on December 23, 2016

- Dec 16, 2016 at 03:26PM
Share this:
Band Links:
So it seems our instincts were correct, industrial metal/rock phenoms Nine Inch Nails are set to release new music in the form of an EP titled, Not The Actual Events. Due on December 23rd, 2016 the new five-song EP EP also comes with news of a very special limited vinyl edition of The Fragile.

Created by Reznor and Ross, this four-disc, 150-minute version of the classic 1999 album features 37 instrumental, alternate and unreleased tracks, many of which have never been heard before. The Fragile: Deviations 1 will not be available on any digital services.

Not The Actual Events sees Reznor and now official bandmate Atticus Ross taking an unexpected left turn from 2013's Hesitation Marks and sounding unrecognizable from their current film work. "It's an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make," says Reznor. "It's an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story."

"The Fragile occupies a very interesting and intimate place in my heart," explains Reznor. "I was going through a turbulent time in my life when making it and revisiting it has become a form of therapy for me. As an experiment, I removed all the vocals from the record and found it became a truly changed experience that worked on a different yet compelling level. The Fragile: Deviations 1 represents Atticus and I embellishing the original record with a number of tracks from those sessions we didn't use before. The result paints a complimentary but different picture we wanted to share."

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.