www.PureGrainAudio.com
NEWSLETTER » Want our content delivered to your inbox?

ALL Reviews

My Iron Lung - "Learn The Leave" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Aug 27, 2016
With a spat of melodic hardcore acts these days, it's tough to stand out from the crowd and even tougher to produce anything noteworthy. So has this latest release from My Iron Lung done anything to distinguish itself - or is it just another on the l…

Rating: 8 / 10

The Amity Affliction - "This Could Be Heartbreak" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Aug 26, 2016
The Amity Affliction go the way of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" on their new album but is the end result a winner or will it all end in heartbreak? Read our review here...

Rating: 6.5 / 10

DEATH VALLEY HIGH Share a List of Their TOP 5 Favourite YouTube Videos [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Aug 25, 2016
Bored? Need a laugh? San Francisco, California's Death Valley High were kind enough to whip a list of their TOP 5 favourite YouTube videos. New album CVLT [AS FVK] due on November 4, 2016 via Minus Head Records!
Slomatics - "Future Echo Returns" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 24, 2016
I think I’ve blown out the speakers in my truck because I crank this album both often and loud.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

The Perms - "Lose Yourself" [Song Review]
Comments Song Review » by: Jessica Lam on Aug 24, 2016
"Lose Yourself" has got catchy lyrics and a happy-go-lucky rhythm that's bound to stay in your head all day.

Rating: 8 / 10

Brutal Assault Festival (Day 4) @ Fortress Josefov (Jaroměř, Czech Republic) on August 13, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 24, 2016
Check out our show review and Day 4 coverage of 2016's Brutal Assault Festival hosted at Fortress Josefov in Jaroměř, Czech Republic on August 13, 2016.
Brujeria - "Pozo Aztlán" [Heavy Haiku Album Review]
Comments Album Streams » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 24, 2016
It’s fast and dirty, just like any whorehouse in Tijuana… and you want more of it.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Motörhead - "Clean Your Clock" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Jason Oberuc on Aug 23, 2016
If you're a fan of Motörhead, long time or brand new, this one is a no-brainer. Containing great songs like Ace of Spades, Overkill, Stay Clean, The Chase is Better Than the Catch, Bomber and much more, you get over an hour of music history.

Rating: 9.5 / 10

Phil Rudd - "Head Job" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Adrian Peel on Aug 23, 2016
Originally intended for release in 2014, former AC/DC drummer Phil Rudd's, first solo album is finally seeing the light of day. See what we make of it in our review inside...

Rating: 6 / 10

Bastille (Osheaga) @ Parc Jean-Drapeau (Montreal, QC) on July 30, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Jessica Lam on Aug 22, 2016
Bastille put on an unbelievably wild performance this past weekend at Osheaga.
Kiefer Sutherland - "Down in a Hole" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Benny Henderson Jr. on Aug 22, 2016
Down in a Hole features eleven soothing tracks that take the classic definition of Americana and smack it around with a helping of blues rock.

Rating: 8 / 10

ANNA ROSE Helps Your Commute with Her TOP 10 Artists to Listen to While Driving [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Aug 22, 2016
Anna Rose, whose new EP Strays In the Cut is out now via Noble Steed Music, was kind enough to share with us her TOP 10 list of artists to listen to while driving.
Steven Tyler - "We're All Somebody From Somewhere" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Aug 22, 2016
Aerosmith frontman Steven Tyler veers into new territory for his first solo album but is this brave move a hit or a miss? Read our review to find out...

Rating: 6 / 10

Brutal Assault Festival (Day 3) @ Fortress Josefov (Jaroměř, Czech Republic) on August 12, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 22, 2016
Check out our show review and Day 3 coverage of 2016's Brutal Assault Festival hosted at Fortress Josefov in Jaroměř, Czech Republic on August 12, 2016.
Devil To Pay - "A Bend Through Space and Time" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Aug 22, 2016
Everything is dead - rap, rock, punk, art. You name it, it's dead. At least that's what everyone seems to be saying. But then along comes a band that intends to challenge this notion. Is Devil To Pay such a band? Or is it frail imitation?

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Inquisition - "Bloodshed Across the Empyrean Altar Beyond the Celestial Zenith" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Jason Oberuc on Aug 22, 2016
The truly haunting vibe that seethes from this album makes for an unrelenting, violent, and surely one of the most creative albums to come out in the last decade. Read our full review here...

Rating: 9.5 / 10

Sarabante - "Poisonous Legacy" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Aug 22, 2016
Having been peddling their pungent, rancid ferocity for almost ten years now, Sarabante's Poisonous Legacy is a crushing affair from start to finish.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

belated. - "blame in on bad timing" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Benny Henderson Jr. on Aug 21, 2016
belated. are highly talented and I believe, with time, will grow into their own and garner a solid fan base.

Rating: 6 / 10

Brutal Assault Festival (Day 2) @ Fortress Josefov (Jaroměř, Czech Republic) on August 11, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 21, 2016
Check out our show review and Day 2 coverage of 2016's Brutal Assault Festival hosted at Fortress Josefov in Jaroměř, Czech Republic on August 11, 2016.
Multicult - "Position Remote" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Aug 21, 2016
Multicult have released their fourth full length since 2010. Now the only question is: what does this mean for noise rock? Perhaps another question: is there such a need for such a big question? The answer is...yes. Details inside.

Rating: 8 / 10

Wretch - "Wretch" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Aug 21, 2016
At no point does the material feel like it's waning or moving past the point of enjoyment, but instead keeps its finger right on the pulse.

Rating: 7 / 10

UK Metal Band DEATH REMAINS List Their TOP 10 Most Inspiring Albums [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Aug 20, 2016
You need to get to know London, UK-based metal quintet, Death Remains, so check out this list of the TOP 10 albums that inspired them as musicians.
Metallica - "Hardwired" [Song Review]
Comments Song Review » by: Benny Henderson Jr. on Aug 20, 2016
"Hardwired" just released and I must say, if this is a prelude to what's to come, Metallica fans will not be let down in the least.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Pluginz Keychains - "The Jack Rack" [Gear Review]
Comments Gear Review » by: Henry Maneuver on Aug 17, 2016
I love the idea behind this; anything that can integrate my obsession of music into an otherwise lifeless routine is KEY (pun intended)!
AS THICK AS THIEVES Reveal Their TOP 10 Most Inspirational People [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Aug 17, 2016
Phoenix, Arizona's unsigned rock band, As Thick As Thieves, share with us an awesome list of their TOP 10 most inspirational people.
Decipher - "Blame Yourself" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Aug 17, 2016
It's going to take a lot to nudge your way to the top of any rock genre these days with the big-hitters firmly in place. Have Southampton boys Decipher got what it takes? Read our review of their new EP to see if we think so...

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Brutal Assault Festival (Day 1) @ Fortress Josefov (Jaroměř, Czech Republic) on August 10, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Aug 16, 2016
Check out our show review and Day 1 coverage of 2016's Brutal Assault Festival hosted at Fortress Josefov in Jaroměř, Czech Republic on August 10, 2016.
Sinsaenum - "Echoes Of The Tortured" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Aug 16, 2016
Sinsaenum sees iconic metal drummer Joey Jordison make a welcome return to the metal scene. Read our review of Echoes Of The Tortured here...

Rating: 8 / 10

CONQUER DIVIDE Vocalist Kiarely Lists Her TOP 10 Essential Tour Items [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Aug 15, 2016
Recently, Kiarely, vocalist for Artery Recordings' all-female metal band Conquer Divide, checked in and shared with us her TOP 10 essential tour items!
PureGrainAudio Presents: A Ridiculously Short History of... SLUDGE
Comments The Skinny » by: Lance Marwood on Aug 15, 2016
Watch as Lance Marwood attempts to describe an entire subgenre of heavy music using less than 300 words. There’s a bonus playlist of essential artists and releases! This time around... SLUDGE!