www.PureGrainAudio.com

ALL Reviews

Fleshgod Apocalypse - "King" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Feb 02, 2016
Equal parts dramatic operatics and ferocious death metal, King sees the Italian outfit take the listener on a complex journey.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Light Years - "I'll See You When I See You" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Damian FitzGerald on Feb 02, 2016
American-based pop punk outfit Light Years ended 2015 on a high with their album I’ll See You When I See You; and it actually is a rather enjoyable outing, although perhaps a little generic.

Rating: 7 / 10

Coldrain - "Vena" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Feb 02, 2016
Is Vena the massive-sounding rock album that will give Japanese rockers Coldrain the worldwide break they sound like the deserve? Read our review here.

Rating: 7 / 10

Hardcore Transition: A Toronto Punk's Journey from Canada to the UK - London Called Me to My First UK Show (Part 2)
Comments The Skinny » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 29, 2016
For the past 8 years, Lance Marwood has lived in the Toronto punk and hardcore scenes - and now he's left it all behind for the UK. In Part 2, Lance misses a shows, hits a show, meets a musician he loves, and more!
Smokey Bastard - "Back To The Drawing Room" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Damian FitzGerald on Jan 27, 2016
So, from the outset I feel I need to state that Back To The Drawing Room is one hell of an album!

Rating: 9 / 10

Between Waves - "Paperchain" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 26, 2016
While it is still early days for this Welsh collective, Paperchain displays a lot to be excited about so, as the old saying goes, watch this space.

Rating: 7 / 10

Beach Slang - "The Things We Do To Find People Like Us" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Damian FitzGerald on Jan 26, 2016
The Debut album from Beach Slang clocks in at less than half an hour and, if I’m honest, I am kind of grateful for that!

Rating: 5 / 10

Bury Tomorrow - "Earthbound" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 24, 2016
Built around a heartbeat of thunderous guitars, Southampton shredders Bury Tomorrow inject pristine, polished melodies and big, crunching breakdowns into the sound on their newest Nuclear Blast effort, Earthbound.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Vision Of Disorder - "Razed To The Ground" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 22, 2016
It is the diversity which Vision Of Disorder demonstrate on this record which turns it into one of the best metal albums of 2015.

Rating: 8 / 10

Shevils - "The White Sea" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 22, 2016
Shevils follow up their 'Lost In Tartarus' release with more chaotic, emotional hardcore. Read our review to see what our thoughts on their latest offering.

Rating: 7 / 10

HUDSON - "Cast Out" [Song Review]
Comments Song Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 22, 2016
They may come from that hotbed of debauchery Los Angeles but Hudson certainly don't sound like your typical LA band.

Rating: 7 / 10

Inverted Serenity - "Integral" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 20, 2016
Inverted Serenity's Integral seamlessly blends together bludgeoning blasts of old school metal with finger–breaking progressive, techy passages.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Everyday Sidekicks - "The Things I've Seen" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 20, 2016
Although 'The Things I've Seen' is a decent enough start for this Bristol outfit, now they need to kick on and find their own identity in the post-hardcore/metalcore scene.

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Stahlsarg - "Comrades In Death" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 20, 2016
As the only real problem with the album is that you don't get the stench of death in your nostrils, it's hard to really fault Comrades In Death.

Rating: 7 / 10

Idols Of Apathy - "Life Lessons" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 19, 2016
With Life Lessons, Essex tech-metallers Idols Of Apathy demonstrate the kind of gut-wrenching heaviness that commands your full attention.

Rating: 8 / 10

Whiskey Ritual - "Blow With The Devil" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 18, 2016
Overall, Whiskey Ritual's Blow With The Devil is exactly the kind of album that you go back to, over and over again, for a night of debauchery and partying.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Ice Nine Kills - "Every Trick In The Book" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 18, 2016
Metalcore outfit Ice Nine Kills mix classic literature with modern metalcore. Read our review to see if the combination worked.

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Intronaut - "The Direction of Last Things" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Kevin Stewart-Panko on Jan 18, 2016
With their newest album The Direction of Last Things, it’s clear that Intronaut has managed to keep things steeped in a progressively conglomerate world.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Royal Republic - "Weekend Man" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 18, 2016
Royal Republic released their third album, ten years too late to ride the post punk revival. Worse, their brand of rock sounds so much like other bands at times that one can’t help but shake their head in wonder.

Rating: 5 / 10

Voros - "Diseased Deity" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 16, 2016
The only key differences I can see in this record between Voros and Meshuggah, however, are the deeper growls and much more straightforward approach to tech metal.

Rating: 7 / 10

Adakain - "Never Coming Home" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 16, 2016
Imagine if you rolled Taproot, Marilyn Manson and Pop Evil into one big ball... Never Coming Home is probably quite close to what it would sound like.

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Innocence Mission - "Hello I Feel The Same" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Bruce Moore on Jan 16, 2016
If you're looking for something a little outside the box or even something to relax with at the end of a long day, the ethereal sounds of Innocence Mission might be for you.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

DVSR - "DVSR" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 16, 2016
Angry, vicious, potent, there isn’t a weak track on DVSR's self-titled album in fact, if anything, their anger-laced sound gets more scathing the longer the album continues.

Rating: 8 / 10

Reject The Sickness - "Chains Of Solitude" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 16, 2016
Named after a God Forbid album, these Belgian progressive death metallers are still a little way off running with the big hitters of the genre.

Rating: 6 / 10

Endmember - "Pathetic" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 16, 2016
Chicago newcomers Endmember start off solidly with a brutal display of extreme metal on their debut album Pathetic. Read our review here.

Rating: 7 / 10

Megadeth - "Dystopia" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Bruce Moore on Jan 15, 2016
Megadeth continue to cement their position as one of the "Big Four" and Dystopia certainly helps to bolster their spot.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Ignite - "A War Against You" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 14, 2016
This record proves Ignite still have grit, they still have a political stance and message, and it’s fast, fast, fast.

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Coasting On Potential - "Onwards and Upwards" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 14, 2016
Brutal metalcore meets infectious pop-punk but the New Yorkers still need to do a bit to fill in the cracks. Read our review here.

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Sikth - "Opacities" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Jan 13, 2016
While you get sonically rodgered by the insane "Under The Weeping Moon", Opacities is clearly just business as usual for a band who many have tried to mimic but few have ever matched.

Rating: 8 / 10

Dragged Into Sunlight / Gnaw Their Tongues - "N.V." [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Jan 13, 2016
Dragged Into Sunlight, in collaboration with Gnaw Their Tongues, have released an album that relies far too heavily on samples, which would have been fine had it worked well with the music.

Rating: 5 / 10