www.PureGrainAudio.com

ALL Reviews

Einherjer - "Dragons of the North XX" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Bruce Moore on Dec 04, 2016
Recreating the rip-roaring party vibe of the Vikings, Einherjer give their 1996 album the reissue treatment. Check out our thoughts here...

Rating: 7..5 / 10

Texas Rocks: 5 Must-Hear Underground West Texas Rock and Metal Bands (Part 2)
Comments The Skinny » by: Christopher Gonda on Dec 03, 2016
It ain’t always buckles, boots and spurs in Texas, they have some long-haired, screamin' demons slashing the masses with their ear-splitting tunes. This time around, we pay homage to underground five rock/metal bands from West Texas.
Klank - "Rise" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Bruce Moore on Dec 02, 2016
Best Klank release since their debut, Still Suffering? Well, there are no fillers to be found here; just good, honest, groove-infused industrial metal.

Rating: 7.8 / 10

Cokegoat - "Drugs And Animals" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Mathieu Sankeralli on Dec 02, 2016
Chicago's Cokegoat slap you about on Drugs And Animals; their new album loaded with jaw-dropping heaviness and range. How heavy? Read about it!

Rating: 9 / 10

Crystal Lake - "True North" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Henry Maneuver on Dec 02, 2016
Crystal Lake is a dark French roast of a band, meaning the performance and production is very sharp and sleek, but their hardcore influence is very apparent in the way that they approach some of their riffing.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Sick Of It All - "When The Smoke Clears" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Dec 01, 2016
Sick Of It All felt like marking their 30th anniversary as a band by releasing a five-song EP of new material. And only our review will be able to describe how badass it is!

Rating: 9 / 10

Bowling For Soup - "Drunk Dynasty" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Damian FitzGerald on Dec 01, 2016
Twenty years into their career and is their any sign of pop-punk favourites Bowling For Soup stepping outside their comfort zone? Read our review of their latest album here...

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Panzerfaust - "The Lucifer Principle" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Dec 01, 2016
Is it black metal in the traditional Norwegian/Swedish sense? Not so much. I can tell you this; however, it’s a solid album and worth a half-hour of your time.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Fatso Jetson/del-Toros - "Split" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Dec 01, 2016
Putting two great rock bands on a split together always makes sense, even when it is a two-track instrumental. Check out our review to understand what we mean.

Rating: 8 / 10

The Mansters - "The Mansters" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Nov 30, 2016
The Mansters is fresh off of a 3-year hiatus and looking to raise levels with their first full length. See our review inside for more.

Rating: 7 / 10

Lampshades - "Thrills" [Song Review]
Comments Song Review » by: Lance Marwood on Nov 30, 2016
Toronto does many things well, and 80's inspired noise rock is just one more to add to the list with this new killer single from three-piece Lampshades. Check out our review for our review.

Rating: 9 / 10

Shaun Colon - "A Fat Wreck: The Punk-U-Mentary" [Film Review]
Comments FIlm Review » by: J. Kevin Lynch on Nov 29, 2016
The film divides the Fat Wreck Chords' history into four generations of bands: 1990-1999, 2000-2009, 2006-2011, and 2012-2015. When it’s over, the film feels like a series of missed opportunities shrouded in self-congratulatory anecdotes.

Rating: 4 / 10

Saxon (w/ Fastaway, Girlschool) @ O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire (London, UK) on November 5, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Adrian Peel on Nov 29, 2016
Denim, leather, plenty of fitting tributes to Lemmy and a career-spanning set from NWOBHM legends Saxon. The Motorhead frontman would have been proud looking down tonight.
Super Capsule - "Frost" [Song Review]
Comments Song Review » by: Lance Marwood on Nov 28, 2016
Brooklyn-based outfit Super Capsule have released this single in advance of their EP coming out soon. Check out our review for our review of their single "Frost".

Rating: 8 / 10

Westing - "Rough Year" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Nov 28, 2016
Westing has been on a tear for the past year, releasing various splits and singles. This EP is their first as a full band, so how does it sound? Check out the review for more.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Protest The Hero - "Pacific Myth" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Jeremy Price on Nov 28, 2016
Pacific Myth has its flaws, but there are still plenty of things to appreciate here, and we have every reason to hope for more prog metal excellence in the future.

Rating: 7 / 10

Ophidius - "The Way of the Voice" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Nov 28, 2016
I’m just going to say it, this is one of my favorite death metal albums of the year and I’ve listened to a shit ton of death metal this year.

Rating: 9 / 10

Twin Rivals - "Demo" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Lance Marwood on Nov 24, 2016
These Toronto natives are going places, in the same vein as Comeback Kid and Ignite, but with their own Toronto spin on the formula. Not bad for what the band bills as a "demo". Check out our review inside.

Rating: 8 / 10

Kier-La Janisse and Paul Corupe - "Satanic Panic: Pop-Cultural Paranoia in the 1980s" [Book Review]
Comments Book Review » by: Bruce Moore on Nov 24, 2016
I think the book does an accurate and phenomenal job of capturing the feel and the essence of the times.

Rating: 7.5 / 10

Witchery - In His Infernal Majesty's Service
Witchery - "In His Infernal Majesty's Service" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Mathieu Sankeralli on Nov 21, 2016
Hellacious dark thrash/death legends Witchery, seek to assault after a long pause with this review of "In His Infernal Majesty's Service".

Rating: 8 / 10

THE LOUNGE KITTENS Talk Us Through Their TOP 10 Favourite Metal Cover Songs [Exclusive]
Comments The Skinny » by: Graham Finney on Nov 20, 2016
Having put their own twist on your favourite metal classics, we thought it would be a bit of fun to ask Timia, Jen and Zan's (AKA. The Lounge Kittens) what their favourite cover versions are. Read on to find out...
Ulcerate @ Yucca Tap Room (Tempe, AZ) on November 10, 2016 [Show Review]
Comments Show Review » by: Nikos Mixas on Nov 19, 2016
How awesome was it when New Zealand’s Ulcerate visited the desert planet of Arizona for the very first time touring in support of their latest offering, Shrines of Paralysis? Pretty fucking awesome, mate!
Pelander - "Time" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Emily Misurec on Nov 19, 2016
Pelander is the solo project of Magnus Pelander, lead singer of Swedish doom metal band Witchcraft. Pelander’s debut album, Time, was released on October 21,2016.

Rating: 6.5 / 10

Lamb of God - "The Duke" [EP] [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Emily Misurec on Nov 19, 2016
The two new tracks are quintessentially LoG, with technical instrumentals, shredding riffs, Blythe’s signature abrasive scream, and an undeniable thrash influence.

Rating: 6 / 10

Geezer - "Geezer" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Mathieu Sankeralli on Nov 19, 2016
Point is, only a band, either by a combination of existence and relentless touring, can get to a stage of just owning whatever it is that they do; which these guys have clearly done.

Rating: 9 / 10

Metallica - "Hardwired... To Self-Destruct" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Nov 19, 2016
After eight long years, Metallica return with their tenth studio album so how does it fair given their recent less than impressive track record? Read our thoughts here...

Rating: 7 / 10

Highly Suspect - "The Boy Who Died Wolf" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Alex Salfer-Hobbs on Nov 17, 2016
Looking for some good ‘ol fashioned rock ‘n roll, with a hint of blues and a light side of political angst? Look no further than The Boy Who Died Wolf. Read more about the latest release from Highly Suspect here...

Rating: 8 / 10

Superjoint - "Caught Up In The Gears Of Application" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Nov 16, 2016
Like much of Anselmo's post-Pantera work, Caught Up In The Gears Of Application won't be to everyone's taste. It's a gloriously rough piece of work that is everything you could want from the Housecore Records label. Read our review here...

Rating: 8.5 / 10

Bon Jovi - "This House Is Not For Sale" [Album Review]
Comments Album Review » by: Graham Finney on Nov 15, 2016
After a rocky few years, Jon Bon Jovi returns with another collection of songs and no hint of calling time on his record-breaking career. Read our review of the latest offering from the New Jersey rock icons here...

Rating: 7 / 10

TRIVIUM Guitarist and Vocalist Matt Heafy Reveals the TOP 10 Things You Didn't Know About Trivium [Exclusive]
Comments TOP 10 » by: Christopher Gonda on Nov 15, 2016
In what is one of the most fun articles we've posted to date, Trivium guitarist and vocalist Matt Heafy shares with us this list of the TOP 10 things you didn't know about Trivium!