ALL Book Review

When liner notes/lyrics and music are not enough, and you want to experience a whole new level of rawness, this is the perfect way to do it.
on Nov 13, 2015
"You're Making Me Hate You," the hot new book from enigmatic Slipknot/Stone Sour front man Corey Taylor, is a hilarious, at times offensive, extremely politically incorrect diatribe that I could not put down.
on Jul 30, 2015
If you're looking for a somewhat definitive explanation (like this writer was) of Nergal's intellectual philosophy that acts as the driving force of Behemoth, you're not going to find it in Behemoth: Devil's Conquistadors. What you will find, though, are plenty of words about the band's history. Lots and lots of them.
on Jun 08, 2015
"Mayhem: 2008-2013" is a massive 300-plus page, over-sized book created by famed Los Angeles photographer Strati Hovartos, documenting the first six years, and capturing the essence of The Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival. The festival has become one of the most popular and successful Summer tours and is the highlight of the Summer for metal heads across North America. Each Summer some of the biggest bands in the business hit the road for this memorable festival which is defined by heavy music, snapping necks, and swirling pits.
on Nov 16, 2014
On its surface, "Songs Only You Know" is a memoir that functions as a detailed look inside the Detroit hardcore punk scene during the '80s. It is the story of a young man with a dream and desire to play hardcore punk for the most honest of reasons; artistic expression. Although he does eventually land a record deal, Sean Madigan Hoen is not interested in being famous, popular or rich, and actually his goals are quite the opposite, staying true to the tenants of the early hardcore movement.
on Jul 29, 2014
"Sierra Court Blues" is the debut novel from Lawrence Parlier; a former front man for the heavy metal group The Malevolent. Parlier taps into his music background and constructs a detailed drama based around the troubles and exploits of an up-and-coming heavy metal band. The book's main character and front man for the band Bo Kineally attempts to juggle family, work, and music with varying degrees of success and soon learns that something has to give.
on Sep 19, 2013
As a lifelong metal head, and someone that has been involved in the scene in one way or another for more than twenty years, I was excited to dig into this book. Authors Jon Wiederhorn and Katherine Turman have done a terrific, if not exhausting, job of chronicling the rise and evolution of the metal scene using quips and comments from the artists in the trenches.
on Sep 12, 2013
"Entartete Kunts," the title of which is a play on the German phrase "entartete kunst" (degenerate art) is a new book that is being released by the Ajna Offensive on June 21st. The book, written and curated by Dennis Dread is a 340 page read filled with the glories of underground art. Now why, you may be asking, is an art book being even written about on a music site? Well, mainly due to the fact that many of the paintings, portraits, and artists themselves have been vastly important in underground punk and metal music. For example art by musicians such as Chris Reifert (Autopsy), Erik Danielsson (Watain), Michel Langevin (Voivod), and Rob Miller (Amebix) are all featured. In addition, album covers from bands such as Voivod, Darkthrone, and others are strewn about the book.
on Jun 20, 2013
The Merciless Book of Metal Lists is exactly what you might expect; except better, much better! I think any true metalhead will find this book to be entertaining, amusing, and at time even humorous. Of course there are the standard prerequisite top ten lists of things like, "Best Metal Bassist" and "Best Metal Album," things that us metalheads have been adamantly arguing about since the genre's inception.
on May 03, 2013
As a rabid Pantera fan I jumped into this book almost immediately upon receiving it. I had been anticipating its arrival for quite a while and was super stoked to dig in. The book is written by bassist Rex Brown and as I expected, there is a fair amount of insider background and biographical info into one of the most revered metal bands of all-time.
on Apr 25, 2013
If you're like me and really dig all things Black Sabbath, then this book is a must for you! Author Brian Aberback has created what I would call a "condensed" version of one of the greatest heavy bands of all-time. I say condensed because the book tops out at only 112 pages, yet still manages to cover the key highlights from the past four decades; including the band's lineup changes and well-documented breakups and reunions.
on Oct 18, 2012
British illustrator Derek Riggs is widely known as the creator and main developer of Iron Maiden's Eddie. To this day, that ghoulish character and its many incarnations still is the most beloved and iconic mascot in the history of Rock N' Roll music. Although Eddie has been indeed the main driving force behind Riggs' success, there are however, many other creative endeavours in his career that also deserve praise and recognition.
on Sep 07, 2012
As the cover clearly indicates, in this book: "rock n’ rollers share their tales of life in and out of the hard rock/heavy metal movement." As one might gather from the title this is a book that takes you behind the scenes and into the personal lives of some of your favorite hard rock and heavy metal musicians. I'm a sucker for this kind of book because I absolutely love getting to know the person behind the persona and I feel "Tales From The Stage" accomplishes this quite well.
on Jul 17, 2012
I'm not sure if any one person has had more of an impact on heavy metal than Tony Iommi. His crushing riffs came to define the genre long before there was even a term for it. For me there is not a more definitive moment in my musical life than the first time I heard the crushing riff of, "Black Sabbath" - I was changed forever. The heavy, haunting tone became the back on which metal was built. Iron Man chronicles Black Sabbath from before its inception until present day, touching on the band's start, their numerous lineup changes and the personal life of the man behind the riff, Iommi.
on Jan 24, 2012
The man, the cook, the author! Bruce Moore has written for PureGrainAudio for years now, conducting interviews and reviewing albums for all you music fans. Now he's taken it upon himself to create his own book about music… with a twist. By adding a dash of cooking he has created a rockin' cook book chock full of sizzling recipes.
on Jan 06, 2012
The Banned Underground is a fantasy novel unlike any other I have ever experienced. The terrific melding of fantasy with incredibly dry, wry humor and wit is just fantastic. I found myself chuckling through most of the book and on a few occasions those chuckles turned into full on fits of laughter.
on Nov 21, 2011
The Stooges were pioneers and innovators of the early punk scene. To this day the band and its larger than life front man Iggy Pop embody the spirit of punk and the early "do it yourself" attitude. For this book author Brett Callwood goes back to the humble beginnings and documents the band's formative years through in-depth interviews with Iggy, the band members and those close to the band. Through first-hand accounts and interviews the reader really gets up close and personal with this seminal act.
on Sep 29, 2011
The newly spawned band Hail The Villain has been hitting the world hard with their album Population: Decline. To help spread their hatred unto the world, the band has released gnarly comics illustrating their devious story.
on Aug 31, 2011
This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx is a collection of memoirs and photographs from one of the most recognizable musicians in all of hard rock. In his previous book, The Heroin Diaries, Sixx documented his decent into the depths of Hell and his longtime battle with drug and alcohol addiction. Now with many successful years of sobriety under his belt Sixx funnels all of his energy headfirst into his passions; music, photography and living life to the fullest surrounded by family.
on Jun 23, 2011
The Armageddon Chord is the debut novel from music industry veteran, Jeremy Wagner. Combining the world of heavy metal with malevolent supernatural forces Wagner has created quite a fantastic read. The story line revolves around the discovery of an ancient Egyptian song written in Hieroglyphics that if played in its entirety will unleash Hell on earth, ushering in Armageddon. The ensuing struggle between those who wish to bring about the apocalypse and a world famous heavy metal guitar player drive the story along creating a riveting thriller that is sure to keep readers glued to the pages until the very end.
on Jun 13, 2011

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox?