ALL Book Review

The Merciless Book of Metal Lists is exactly what you might expect; except better, much better! I think any true metalhead will find this book to be entertaining, amusing, and at time even humorous. Of course there are the standard prerequisite top ten lists of things like, "Best Metal Bassist" and "Best Metal Album," things that us metalheads have been adamantly arguing about since the genre's inception.
on May 03, 2013
As a rabid Pantera fan I jumped into this book almost immediately upon receiving it. I had been anticipating its arrival for quite a while and was super stoked to dig in. The book is written by bassist Rex Brown and as I expected, there is a fair amount of insider background and biographical info into one of the most revered metal bands of all-time.
on Apr 25, 2013
If you're like me and really dig all things Black Sabbath, then this book is a must for you! Author Brian Aberback has created what I would call a "condensed" version of one of the greatest heavy bands of all-time. I say condensed because the book tops out at only 112 pages, yet still manages to cover the key highlights from the past four decades; including the band's lineup changes and well-documented breakups and reunions.
on Oct 18, 2012
British illustrator Derek Riggs is widely known as the creator and main developer of Iron Maiden's Eddie. To this day, that ghoulish character and its many incarnations still is the most beloved and iconic mascot in the history of Rock N' Roll music. Although Eddie has been indeed the main driving force behind Riggs' success, there are however, many other creative endeavours in his career that also deserve praise and recognition.
on Sep 07, 2012
As the cover clearly indicates, in this book: "rock n’ rollers share their tales of life in and out of the hard rock/heavy metal movement." As one might gather from the title this is a book that takes you behind the scenes and into the personal lives of some of your favorite hard rock and heavy metal musicians. I'm a sucker for this kind of book because I absolutely love getting to know the person behind the persona and I feel "Tales From The Stage" accomplishes this quite well.
on Jul 17, 2012
I'm not sure if any one person has had more of an impact on heavy metal than Tony Iommi. His crushing riffs came to define the genre long before there was even a term for it. For me there is not a more definitive moment in my musical life than the first time I heard the crushing riff of, "Black Sabbath" - I was changed forever. The heavy, haunting tone became the back on which metal was built. Iron Man chronicles Black Sabbath from before its inception until present day, touching on the band's start, their numerous lineup changes and the personal life of the man behind the riff, Iommi.
on Jan 24, 2012
The man, the cook, the author! Bruce Moore has written for PureGrainAudio for years now, conducting interviews and reviewing albums for all you music fans. Now he's taken it upon himself to create his own book about music… with a twist. By adding a dash of cooking he has created a rockin' cook book chock full of sizzling recipes.
on Jan 06, 2012
The Banned Underground is a fantasy novel unlike any other I have ever experienced. The terrific melding of fantasy with incredibly dry, wry humor and wit is just fantastic. I found myself chuckling through most of the book and on a few occasions those chuckles turned into full on fits of laughter.
on Nov 21, 2011
The Stooges were pioneers and innovators of the early punk scene. To this day the band and its larger than life front man Iggy Pop embody the spirit of punk and the early "do it yourself" attitude. For this book author Brett Callwood goes back to the humble beginnings and documents the band's formative years through in-depth interviews with Iggy, the band members and those close to the band. Through first-hand accounts and interviews the reader really gets up close and personal with this seminal act.
on Sep 29, 2011
The newly spawned band Hail The Villain has been hitting the world hard with their album Population: Decline. To help spread their hatred unto the world, the band has released gnarly comics illustrating their devious story.
on Aug 31, 2011
This Is Gonna Hurt: Music, Photography and Life Through the Distorted Lens of Nikki Sixx is a collection of memoirs and photographs from one of the most recognizable musicians in all of hard rock. In his previous book, The Heroin Diaries, Sixx documented his decent into the depths of Hell and his longtime battle with drug and alcohol addiction. Now with many successful years of sobriety under his belt Sixx funnels all of his energy headfirst into his passions; music, photography and living life to the fullest surrounded by family.
on Jun 23, 2011
The Armageddon Chord is the debut novel from music industry veteran, Jeremy Wagner. Combining the world of heavy metal with malevolent supernatural forces Wagner has created quite a fantastic read. The story line revolves around the discovery of an ancient Egyptian song written in Hieroglyphics that if played in its entirety will unleash Hell on earth, ushering in Armageddon. The ensuing struggle between those who wish to bring about the apocalypse and a world famous heavy metal guitar player drive the story along creating a riveting thriller that is sure to keep readers glued to the pages until the very end.
on Jun 13, 2011
With Dolor author Rick Florino has created a world that is as gripping as it is repulsive; kind of like a car wreck, you don’t want to but you're compelled to look. F.B.I Agent Jeffries arrives at the small town of Dolor to investigate a fire that has burned the whole town to the ground with the exception of one lone house. While this remaining, solitary house is completely charred on the outside Investigator Jeffries finds that inside is a much different story and much to his surprise, everything appears normal.
on Jun 08, 2011
Author Mick Wall takes on the task of documenting the rise of what is arguably the biggest heavy metal band of all time, Metallica. As a fan of the band from the very beginning back in the early 1980’s, I was more than ecstatic to dig into this incredibly detailed and lengthy biography. As a personal friend of the band Wall has access to and incredible insight into the musicians and has done a wonderful job of compiling his first hand observations and interviews to construct an unbelievable portrait of the machine that is Metallica.
on Jun 07, 2011
Dave Brockie is also known as Oderus Urungus, the outrageous, over-the-top front man of the equally outrageous heavy metal band Gwar. For years now Brockie has pushed the limits with the band's live show and has always taken entertainment value to the next level. For his first foray into the fiction realm Brockie carries on that same tradition of shock and awe.
on May 05, 2011
The iconic cult figure Nick Cave has been making music, writing novels, making movies and entertaining the masses for more than 30 years now. Through a series of in-depth interviews, "Nick Cave Sinner Saint: True Confessions" takes the reader on a journey into the mind of this legendary figure.
on Apr 29, 2011
The newly spawned band Hail The Villain has been hitting the world hard with their album Population: Decline. To help spread their hatred unto the world, the band has released gnarly comics illustrating their devious story.
on Apr 28, 2011
"Relix The Book: The Grateful Dead Experience - 30 Years Of Mind-Melting Art, Interviews, Anecdotes And More!" What a long title! As a fan of The Grateful Dead for many years now, I found this book to be an incredible read. The book was compiled by Toni Brown, the founder of Relix Magazine and consists of a plethora of articles and interviews taken from the...
on Jan 29, 2010
I’ve never done a book review before, so this was quite the adventure. What better place to start than with local author, Dave Proctor. Dave is from Markham, we went to the same high school and I met him a couple times prior to reading this book, which happens to be his first release. He used to play in a band called The Atomic Drops, among others I’m sure, but...
on Jan 25, 2010
"Do The Devil’s Work From Him" is a straightforward no-nonsense beginner’s guide to getting started in a long lasting career in the music business. Authored by two individuals who have worked their way through the ranks of this cut-throat business, Amy Sciarretto and Rick Florino offer practical advice for those individuals interested in working...
on Jan 19, 2010

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox?