ALL Movie Review

Low budget horror movies are a dime a dozen and more often than not disappoint in a big way. I understand it's very difficult to obtain the "shock an awe" factor on a shoestring budget and honestly most don’t deliver. At first glance, The Puppet Monster Massacre seems to be one of those movies. It's a horror movie with; well you guessed it, hand puppets as characters. This might seem odd at first, but before you rush to any quick decisions I feel this movie actually works very well. While there's no real edge-of-your-seat suspense or nail-biting horror, the movie contains tons of puppet gore and lots of witty, clever dialogue.
on Aug 31, 2011
The Corporate Cut Throat Massacre bills itself as "The Office" meets "American Psycho." After reading that I was more than intrigued and was anticipating a whole lot more than was delivered. I understand this is an offbeat, "B" movie, but nonetheless I found it to be extremely slow and at times extremely boring - which I think is a shame because the plot line is great.
on Aug 23, 2011
This movie is vulgar, rough and not for the faint of heart, but I feel it also serves as a poignant character study on the devastating effects of grief and the loss of a loved one. I found the offbeat story line to be right up my alley and the acting was terrific. Set to a sound track that consists of Motorhead and Metallica this is really a good film that I would recommend without reservation.
on Aug 08, 2011
The title alone intrigued me enough to really want to dig into this documentary about the 1984 death of the eccentric, some would argue iconic, comedian, Andy Kaufman. Most know Kaufman from his work on Saturday Night Live or for his role as Latka in the classic television series, "Taxi," but Kaufman was also well known for his standup comedy. Kaufman succumbed to lung cancer back in 1984 and as far as I knew, that was the end of the story.
on Aug 02, 2011
To date, Double Live is by far my favorite DVD release from Eagle Rock Entertainment. As a huge Twisted Sister fan I found this package to be utterly fantastic. It's a two disc set featuring two performances filmed 19 years apart. It also includes interviews with the band discussing their reunion as well as the personal impact the events of 9/11 had on the members. I've seen the band live countless times and while nothing can replace attending a concert itself, this DVD comes damn close at capturing the passion and intensity of a Twisted Sister show.
on Jul 19, 2011
Live at the Greek Theatre was recorded on the last night of The Doobie Brothers' 1982 "Farewell Tour". As one of the most influential bands of all time, their contributions not only to rock n’ roll, but to the music industry in general are immeasurable. As you might expect, this DVD contains many of the band's biggest hits, and let me tell you there are a lot of them!
on Jul 18, 2011
Formed in 1973, Bad Company went onto define classic rock as we know it with a string of hit singles throughout the 70’s and 80’s. Songs such as "Feel Like Making Love," "Shooting Star" and "Bad Company" are still staples on every classic rock station in the country. Live at Wembley is a homecoming of sorts for the band as it features original members, Paul Rodgers, Mick Ralphs and Simon Kirke recorded in 2010 on the tail end of the band's reunion tour in their home country, the U.K.
on Jul 12, 2011
The name alone immediately invokes thoughts of incredible jazz from an eccentric, larger than life personality. Miles Davis is synonymous with jazz music and had an important role in shaping the genre as a whole. I feel however that Davis’ music is not only for jazz fans; it truly transcends genres and appeals to millions of people worldwide.
on Jul 05, 2011
Phoenix Rising contains never before released, fully restored footage of Deep Purple live at the Budokan Arena in Tokyo on December, 15th 1975. The live portion of this DVD is only 30 minutes long, but includes classic hits such as "Burn", "Love Child", "Smoke On The Water", "You Keep On Moving" and "Highway Star". The lineup for this show is what Deep Purple fans refer to as the MkIV lineup and features David Coverdale at the helm.
on Jun 30, 2011
Filmed in California in November of 2010, the majority of the tunes on this DVD come from the soulful, R&B flavored, stripped down disc, 100 Miles From Memphis. Joining Crow onstage for this performance at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood, and providing the backbone for her set, is a group of unbelievably tight musicians that call themselves The Thieves. While Crow is definitely the star of the show these guys, even though quite unassuming, really play their tails off.
on Jun 23, 2011
Ride, Rise, Roar is a live DVD that captures David Byrne performing over a series of concert dates in 2008 and 2009. Byrne is a master performer and entertainer and his charisma and professionalism really shine through here on this disc. He's also a consummate artist/performer and has received Grammy, Oscar, and Golden Globe awards and been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
on May 25, 2011
These Magnificent Miles: On The Long Road With Red Wanting Blue is a documentary that follows Red Wanting Blue (one of the top independent bands) as they try to obtain a record deal for their eighth studio album. For more than a decade now Red Wanting To Blue has been touring the country bringing their brand of rock music to the masses.
on Apr 07, 2011
An Evening With Frank Zappa During Which The Torture Never Stops is the latest release from Eagle Rock Entertainment. This time out, the performance is Frank Zappa live on Halloween Night in 1981 at the Palladium Theatre in New York City. I have been a Zappa fan for about as long as I can remember and I was surprised to receive this disc in the mail because believe it or not, I was actually in attendance for this specific performance back in 1983.
on Jan 07, 2011
Live In Houston captures the super group Velvet Revolver in 2005 while the band was touring in support of their Grammy Award winning release Contraband. As a fan Velvet Revolver, and the previous projects of the individual band members, I was extremely excited to sit down and watch this DVD. Let me tell you it does not disappoint. I never had the opportunity to see Velvet Revolver in a live setting; damn did I miss a good thing.
on Nov 22, 2010
This newest installment of The Classic Albums Series takes in in-depth look at Rush and their two classic releases 2112 and Moving Pictures. Both of these records were influential in defining the progressive rock movement in the ‘70s and ‘80s. The trio of amazingly talented musicians, (Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart) has withstood the test if time and they have been releasing cutting edgem relevant material for more than three decades.
on Oct 18, 2010
Black Sabbath is hands down one of the most influential bands of all time. I dare say without their innovative and at times inventive style, metal as we know it wouldn't exist. I have been a fan of Sabbath for just about all of my life and when I was asked to review this I was more than happy to oblige. For the past year or so Eagle Rock has been releasing DVDs that go behind the scenes and document the making of some of the greatest albums ever.
on Sep 30, 2010
Dazzling, captivating and electrifying! That is the only way to explain the DVD that captures this legendary alternative band live on stage at the Voodoo Experience, Halloween Night, 2009. The reunited classic lineup of Perry Farrell, Stephen Perkins, Eric Avery and Dave Navarro are back and in top form as they play to a packed house in New Orleans. The set list is mostly drawn from the band's first two albums and includes some of their huge hits…
on Sep 24, 2010
For more than three decades Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have written and recorded music that is widely considered to be classic and iconic. Petty has one of the most recognizable voices in all of Rock and Roll past or present and this is the album that launched the band into the stratosphere. Tunes such as, “Refugee” and “Don’t Do Me Like That,” both come from the Damn The Torpedoes record and in my opinion they are two of the best classic rock songs of all time.
on Sep 16, 2010
15 years ago a metal band, who would later gain worldwide fame, was born from Alaska’s harsh tundra. Today, with four successful albums under their belt and a vast number of tours, 36 Crazyfists decided it was time to release their first DVD. Underneath A Northern Sky, a very appropriately named release, focuses beautiful Alaskan imagery. Music aside, this DVD is a testament to the band's love of their homeland and fans.
on Aug 26, 2010
8 Studio Albums, 1 Live Album, 2 Compilation Albums, 4 Extended Plays, 37 Splits and 4 Promos. That is the list of audio releases Fuck Of Facts have to date. With all that FTF decided it was time to release their first DVD Disgorge Mexico: The DVD. This release comes in two different parts; the being a live show and the second a movie.
on Jul 21, 2010

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox?