ALL The Skinny

Hello! TJ from The Nearly Deads here - reporting from Denny's (free WiFi yay!) in New Jersey. It's an off day on our "Invisible Tonight" tour with Rivers Monroe. We're having a blast this time, I absolutely love being on the road. We just finished up a run with City of The Weak with a few days off with family in Milwaukee, WI. Then, it was back in the van, off for more adventures. The first stop was Fearless Radio in Chicago, IL. We love performing for them, they are super nice, and the interviews are always unique. Everyone should be tuning in! Here's a podcast of the interview/acoustic set we did for them!
on Jun 30, 2014
Underrated F*cking Albums is a series we're running on, well, albums we think are fucking underrated. Sure, some of you might totally disagree with us, in fact, you might think we're absolutely retarded for thinking these releases merit even a smidgen of your precious time. Well we don't care. These are our opinions and we're entitled to them, plus we're big and bearded and are willing to fist fight to the death to honour the music we love... well, maybe 1 or 2 of us. The rest of us are kinda wimpy, so please be nice and don't pound us. Either way, check this shit from: Iron Maiden, Vacant Stare, and Winger.
on Mar 07, 2014
Underrated F*cking Albums is a series we're running on, well, albums we think are fucking underrated. Sure, some of you might totally disagree with us, in fact, you might think we're absolutely retarded for thinking these releases merit even a smidgen of your precious time. Well we don't care. These are our opinions and we're entitled to them, plus we're big and bearded and are willing to fist fight to the death to honour the music we love... well, maybe 1 or 2 of us. The rest of us are kinda wimpy, so please be nice and don't pound us. Either way, check this shit from: Archaios, Faster Pussycat, and Edguy.
on Feb 28, 2014
Underrated F*cking Albums is a series we're running on, well, albums we think are fucking underrated. Sure, some of you might totally disagree with us, in fact, you might think we're absolutely retarded for thinking these releases merit even a smidgen of your precious time. Well we don't care. These are our opinions and we're entitled to them, plus we're big and bearded and are willing to fist fight to the death to honour the music we love... well, maybe 1 or 2 of us. The rest of us are kinda wimpy, so please be nice and don't pound us. Either way, check this shit from: Limp Bizkit, Morbid Angel, and Viking Skull.
on Feb 23, 2014
Welcome to part 4 of our ongoing coverage of Heaven's Basement current major North American tour with The Pretty Reckless which will see the bands playing until November 11th before heading off to tour in the UK. Heaven's Basement recently wrapped a headlining tour of the UK, including a sold-out show at London's The 100 club. Heaven's Basement's latest album Filthy Empire has been performing extremely well, including the hit song "Fire, Fire" which was a top 20 song on the Active Rock charts. Check out what bassist Rob Ellershaw had to say about the current tour!
on Nov 27, 2013
Welcome to part 3 of our ongoing coverage of Heaven's Basement current major North American tour with The Pretty Reckless which will see the bands playing until November 11th before heading off to tour in the UK. Heaven's Basement recently wrapped a headlining tour of the UK, including a sold-out show at London's The 100 club. Heaven's Basement's latest album Filthy Empire has been performing extremely well, including the hit song "Fire, Fire" which was a top 20 song on the Active Rock charts. Check out what drummer Chris Rivers had to say about the current tour!
on Nov 12, 2013
Welcome to part 2 of our ongoing coverage of Heaven's Basement current major North American tour with The Pretty Reckless which will see the bands playing until November 11th before heading off to tour in the UK. Heaven's Basement recently wrapped a headlining tour of the UK, including a sold-out show at London's The 100 club. Heaven's Basement's latest album Filthy Empire has been performing extremely well, including the hit song "Fire, Fire" which was a top 20 song on the Active Rock charts. Check out what vocalist Aaron Buchanan had to say about the current tour!
on Oct 21, 2013
Heaven's Basement are in the midst of a major North American tour with The Pretty Reckless which will see the bands playing through until November 11th before heading off to tour in the UK. Heaven's Basement recently wrapped a headlining tour of the UK, including a sold-out show at London's The 100 club. Heaven's Basement latest album Filthy Empire has been performing extremely well, including the hit song "Fire, Fire" which was a top 20 song on the Active Rock charts. Check out what guitarist Sid Glover had to say about the current tour!
on Oct 07, 2013
The band Across Tundras is a group of musicians who have actually been able to successfully construct their own fusion of music which is simultaneously seamless and creative. This past April the band released their latest LP, Electric Relics, via Neurot Recordings. Recorded by Mikey Allred and Tanner Olson at Ramble Hill Farm during February of 2013, the album would also be mixed and mastered by Allred.
on Oct 03, 2013
Boston, Massachusetts-based rock duo Yellabird is one hell of a band. Comprised of vocalist/guitarist Martin Stubbs and drummer is Felipe Gaviria, Yellabird just plain rocks as evidenced by their massive-sounding EP Little Brother which dropped on August 29, 2013. The new disc was recorded, mixed, and mastered at Q Division Studios in Somerville, Massachusetts and was mastered by Mike Quinn with artwork coming from Robert Parks. With a underlying Bluesy/Southern vibe, the fuzzed-out guitars soar in a stoner rock-ish manner that's just plain groovy. Check out the exclusive album track-by-track we got from Martin himself.
on Sep 04, 2013
Picture a Summer night and a crystal clear sky filled with stars. There is something really beautiful yet hauntingly mysterious about it.... This is the inspiration for Huntess' second album Starbound Beast, release on June 28th in Europe and July 2nd in North America via Napalm Records.
on Jul 08, 2013
7/28 - Hilltop Fortress (West Lafayette), 7/29 (Toledo): After a victorious show in Chicago, it was back to Indiana to play the hilltop fortress. This time in Indiana would be different. But first, there was a pit-stop at Hooters, where the ladies would not leave Joe alone thanks to his good looks.
on Sep 09, 2012
July 27, 2012 - Reggie's - Chicago, IL w/Diamond Plate, Smashed Potater, Lich King: This is the show that we all were waiting for, that our entire tour was booked around. We were slated to play the reunion show with the legendary Morbid Saint, and with the unstoppable force that Diamond Plate has grown into since they were even younger than they are now. I was especially fired up about it because I learned that one of my brothers-in-arms, Luke James from FATAL, had just moved to Chicago, and we had made arrangements to meet up.
on Sep 05, 2012
July 25, 2012 - Hammerheads - Fort Wayne, IN w/ Argonaut, Testimony, Lich King: Driving up to Hammerhead Hall was a brutally long, and corn field–filled excursion through the flat, expansive plains of the rural mid west. Passing through, I spent a lot of time thinking to myself "holy shit this place is AMERICA (yes, I thought that in caps lock) as the stereotypical red barns, tractors, and mill silos lazily drifted by on a green sea of corn stalks. Suddenly, our GPS indicated that we were a minute away from the venue, and the pristine country scenery had not changed at all. Consternation overtook me as I exclaimed: "What the fuck kind of venue would be a minute away from THIS place?" The LK guys gave a smirk and shrug as the seconds-remaining on the GPS dwindled down to zero as we pulled up to a huge, ominous building reminiscent of an old – timey movie theater, abandoned.
on Sep 03, 2012
July 22 in Brooklyn, NY and July 23 in Philadelphia, PA: Being provided with an excellent place to sleep by the promoter for today's show, we were well rested yet again even, even after a night of hard partying. Tom from Lich King was fairly insistent that we go to the diner called the Rutherford Pancake House. The breakfast food there was great. Massive omelets and stuffed french toast that tasted like it was stuffed with the cream of the Metal gods themselves. Just don’t get the burgers unless you enjoy being disappointed. I wish I had a picture of the "8 oz" burger for you. I know what a half-pound of meat looks like, and this was not it. (Wish I had a picture for you)
on Aug 17, 2012
So after Dublin we arrived in Lorient, Brittany. We did over 15 shows. 4 of them were unexpected and were shows we got offered from promoters. People where insanely nice and loved every note we did during our shows. Some bodysurfed, some danced on stage with us and a lot, I mean a lot of them, were dropping their drinks on stage and in the venue.
on Aug 12, 2012
July 21 - Jersey City, NJ. On Saturday, July 21, Sonic Pulse set out on our first tour out of our territory. We already had a slight head start from staying at the Lich King’s lair the night before. Thanks to our touring partners’ hospitality, we hit the road well-rested, well-practiced, and confident.
on Aug 10, 2012
Since June, we've been touring in Switzerland and France for 2 weeks. During this time, we took a lot of footage of technical crews and new friends. Everywhere we went, we made them wear smiles made out of cardboard. One of our songs called "Wearing a Smile" has for a concept to stay positive in life as much as you can even in difficult moments, cause life does go fast!
on Jul 22, 2012
Montreal: Montreal, what can I say? Easily one of the most beautiful cities I've seen. Much like Toronto this city is alive at all times. However it had a more relaxed, "have a good time" vibe. We ended up arriving in Montreal late afternoon. Due to pricing and parking we ended up staying across the bridge in Brossard. About 20 min away from venue.
on Jul 17, 2012
Ottawa: After all the driving we had done the last few days it was a relief we only had a 4 hour drive to Ottawa. We got to Ottawa around 6pm and quickly found a hotel near the venue. We had enough time to find a chip wagon and make a quick stop at the LCBO to pick up some drinks. After a few drinks we headed to the venue.
on Jul 15, 2012

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox?