Home  /  News

MINIATURE TIGERS Announce New Album 'Mia Pharaoh'; Stream New Song "Female Doctor" Online

- Jan 13, 2012 at 02:03PM
Share this:
Band Links:
Miniature Tigers are excited to reveal that their anticipated third album, 'Mia Pharaoh', will drop March 6th via Modern Art Records, in conjunction with Warner Music's Independent Label Group. Today the band premieres their sly, alluring indie-pop groove "Female Doctor" HERE! The new track is streamed with a hilarious European reality-TV-clip-montage of seductive female doctors, fitting to match the title of the track and was directed by Max Goldblatt.

With the success of Miniature Tigers' 2010 album 'F O R T R E S S', singer/guitarist Charlie Brand, drummer/keyboardist Rick Schaier, guitarist/mixer Algernon Quashie, and bassist Brandon Lee turned into relentless road warriors. The guys performed on countless headlining shows, shared numerous stages with such acts as The Morning Benders, Neon Indian, Walkmen, Freelance Whales and Tennis, and gave stellar performances at Lollapalooza, RVA Music Festival, Austin City Limits and POPPED! Music Festival.

When not on stage the band was igniting their charming idiosyncratic sound for 'Mia Parahoh', which Miniature Tigers amplifies with an abstract pop and dance music flame. Brand was heavily inspired by teenage dream pop music, which of course, received the four piece's proper, quirky spin on it.

"Halfway through making 'Mia Pharaoh', I fell in love with pop all over again and was strictly listening to Top 40 music," explains Brand. "Instead of studying Simon & Garfunkel drum tones, I was figuring out what samples The Dream and Kanye used, or trying to write a song that Katy Perry or Rihanna could sing-a real outsider pop record."

'Mia Pharaoh' ends up with ten tracks that are locked and loaded with a luminous vintage-vibe synth that enhances pop-dazed melodies, luring guitar riffs, and untamed percussion beats, mixed with dreamy dance key chords, and a dash of brassy saxophone; all of which meshes into random peculiar sounds - giving the record an almost psychedelic experience that would even appeal to Timothy Leary. The band's music is propelled by Brand's languid and angelic vocals that swirl with several lyrics about erotic daydreams and heart-pounding tales of love-driven insanity.

'Mia Pharaoh' Track Listing:

01. Sex On The Regular
02. Female Doctor
03. Cleopatra
04. Afternoons With David Hockney
05. Easy As All That
06. Flower Door
07. Boomerang
08. Ugly Needs
09. Angel Bath
10. Husbands and Wives

For more information, please visit: www.facebook.com/miniaturetigers.
Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.