Home  /  News  /  Album News

New Band LESS ART Featuring Members of THRICE to Release 'Strangled Light' July 28th

- May 27, 2017 at 01:28PM
Share this:
Band Links:
Less Art is a new band featuring brothers Riley and Ed Breckenridge of Thrice, Ian Miller and Jon Howell of Kowloon Walled City, and Mike Minnick of Curl Up and Die. The band has announced that they will release their debut record Strangled Light on July 28th. The band bashes out their own new version of post-hardcore which they describe as "post-hardcore by post-youths," but the music is dead serious and the musicianship is world-class.

Strangled Light features nine songs that capture the vibe set forth by bands such as Fugazi, Unwound, and Drive Like Jehu. Initially, the band was brought together by basesball, as 4/5s of Less Art are the individuals behind the baseball-themed hardcore band Puig Destroyer. After blasting out songs about bunting and stealing bases, the guys decided they wanted to start a "real" band so they got together with Riley's brother Ed and Less Is Art was then born.

The band name is taken from a line in Shakespeare's Hamlet and they write songs about self-destruction and personal demons. Strangled Light was recorded and mixed by Kowloon Walled City frontman Scott Evans at Sharkbite Studios and Antisleep Audio, and mastered by Brad Boatright (Full of Hell, Mutoid Man) at Audiosiege. Guest vocals on the song "Diana The Huntress" are provided by Meghan O'Neill-Pennie (Super Unison, ex-Punch).

Strangled Light Track Listing:

01. Optimism as Survival
02. Diana the Huntress
03. Mood 7 Mind Destroyer: Guilt
04. Wandering Ghost
05. Pessimism as Denial
06. Shapeshifter
07. Crushed Out
08. What Is It In Man?
09. Strangled Light

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.