Home  /  News  /  Album News

RISE AGAINST Announce "Wolves" for Release on June 9th; Stream Lead Single "The Violence"

- Apr 21, 2017 at 12:11PM
Share this:
Band Links:
Wolves, the new album from Rise Against, will be released on June 9th via Virgin Records. The band has also debuted the first single from the album called "The Violence." Wolves is a challenge to Rise Against fans to join the band in creating a bold new identity together. The album focuses on recognising the power within and it's a primal call for the prey to become the hunters in our world.

"In many ways, a Rise Against show is a safe space for our fans," lead singer Tim McIlrath says. "But I realized that I don't only want to create safe spaces, I want to create dangerous spaces where misogyny can't exist, where xenophobia can't exist. I want to create spaces where those sentiments don't have any air, and they suffocate: where those ideas die. Wolves isn't about creating a safe space, it's about creating a space that's dangerous for injustice."

To record the album Rise Against worked with Grammy Award winning producer Nick Raskulinecz who has worked with Foo Fighters, Alice In Chains and Deftones. Recording with Raskulinecz entailed moving to Nashville for a while, a far cry from the band's native Chicago or Los Angeles which they are most familiar with. The band has rarely even played in Nashville which gave the setting a greater importance in the recording process.

"Living in Nashville drove home that we can't just focus on our differences," McIlrath says. "If we can stop and talk to each other, face to face, we might realize our common ground. We are all wolves in the same pack, circling at the gates."

This summer, Rise Against will join Deftones on an extensive co-headline tour, which will kick off on June 9th and feature special guest Thrice. Wolves to 2014's The Black Market which hit No. 1 on the Alternative, Top Rock and Hard Rock albums charts in the U.S.

Wolves Track Listing:

01. Wolves
02. House On Fire
03. The Violence
04. Welcome To The Breakdown
05. Far From Perfect
06. Bulls***
07. Politics of Love
08. Parts Per Million
09. Mourning in Amerika
10. How Many Walls
11. Miracle

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.