Home  /  News  /  Album News

SCREAMING FEMALES to Release New Album 'Ugly' April 3rd; Announce Record Store Tour

- Jan 17, 2012 at 11:11AM
Share this:
Band Links:
Screaming Females' seven years as a band, four full-length albums and 700 globe-spanning live shows has made them difficult to miss. Through it all, the New Brunswick, New Jersey trio have continued to exude a frenetic energy which is built upon the zeitgeist of America's punk and indie underground yet has always remained forward-looking.

Fittingly, for Screaming Females' 5th album 'Ugly', the band enlisted legendary recording engineer Steve Albini, famed for his unique ability to capture the ferociousness of a live performance while delivering gorgeous sonic clarity. The album's 14 tracks reaffirm the touchstones of the band; they can still shred and front-woman Marissa Paternoster can still unleash a powerful howl. But it doesn't end there. The album ushers in new explorations for the band, a truly remarkable feat considering their already prolific output. 'Ugly' has the perfect combination of raw energy and honed musicianship that produces the type of rock n' roll which is still a force to be reckoned with.

As a lead up to 'Ugly', Screaming Females will release the album's first single, "It All Means Nothing", on February 11th, 2012 at the Don Giovanni Records Showcase in Brooklyn, NY. The 7" record will be backed with a live version of "A New Kid" from a session recorded at the fabled independent radio station, WFMU. The showcase will be followed by a weeklong tour of free shows at record stores (and a bookstore). The new single will be exclusively available for purchase from the band during this run of shows.

'Ugly' Track Listing:

01. It All Means Nothing
02. Rotten Apple
03. Extinction
04. Red Hand
05. 5 High
06. Expire
07. Crow's Nest
08. Tell Me No
09. Leave It All Up to Me
10. Doom 84
11. Help Me
12. Something Ugly
13. Slow Birth
14. It's Nice

Tour Dates:

02/11 - Brooklyn, NY - Don Giovanni Records Showcase @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
02/12 - Manhattan, NY - Generation Records
02/13 - Cambridge, MA - Lorem Ipsum Books
02/14 - Northampton, MA - Feeding Tube Records
02/15 - Philadelphia, PA - Long In The Tooth Records
02/16 - Richmond, VA - Steady Sounds
02/17 - Asheville, NC - Harvest Records
02/18 - Nashville, TN - Grimey's New and Preloved Music
02/19 - Chicago, IL - Permanent Records

For more information, please visit: www.screamingfemales.com.
Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.