ALL Book Review

With the adult graphic novel GRACE: Based on the Jeff Buckley Story (First Second/Macmillan), author Tiffanie DeBartolo has perfectly captured the essence of Jeff Buckley with heart and soul.
on Apr 24, 2019
“For The Sake of Heaviness: The History of Metal Blade Records,” by Brian Slagel and Mark Eglinton, is a great audiobook primed to satisfy metal fans everywhere with its detailed examination of the illustrious history of metal’s founding record label.
on Apr 02, 2019
In simple terms, JP Ahonen’s Belzebubs is a mockumentary. Imagine a black metal version of Spinal Tap, with the silliness and humour turned up to 11. If you know anything about metal, though, you’ll appreciate the wry humour, which clearly comes from a deep-seated love of all things kvlt.
on Mar 22, 2019
Published by Da Capo Press, Forever Nerdy: Living My Dorky Dreams and Staying Metal is a comedic memoir from Brian Posehn about his experience as a nerdy, metalhead kid who grew up to live his dreams as a Hollywood celebrity.
on Mar 01, 2019
Heavy Duty: Days and Nights in Judas Priest is a decent read with a lovely overview of the early history of a legendary heavy metal band.
on Jan 04, 2019
Michael Hebb’s Let’s Talk About Death (Over Dinner), published on October 2nd by Da Capo Lifelong Books, is a great read with lots of practical information about a taboo subject, and it is sure to leave readers with much to think about.
on Nov 13, 2018
As CRASH not only taught me a lot about artists that I have been following for decades, but also looks stunning, this may be my favorite book of 2018.
on Nov 07, 2018
Other than lines such as “All I wanted was to be warm and noticed”, The Rogue To Nowhere contains little about Jason’s music; this is all about the drugs, girls and addiction. A stand-out memoir from a musician who has spent much of his career in the background.
on Jul 24, 2018
This is absolutely more than a book about a rock band. It’s a tale of discovery and about carving one’s own way while not exactly knowing what you’re carving into.
on Jul 23, 2018
Francesca Lia Block’s The Thorn Necklace is a good read with useful information for using your past experiences and the power of the pen to exorcise your demons and, hopefully, affect the lives of your readers as well.
on Jul 05, 2018
Check out our review of Mia Michaels’ A Unicorn in a World of Donkeys and find out whether you’re a magical fairy tale creature or a steadfast beast of burden.
on Jun 05, 2018
Take a very short, sort-of-spiritual journey by reading our review for Stalking God: My Unorthodox Search for Something to Believe In, Anjali Kumar’s down-to-earth, funny, and honest quest to find a faith or principle that she can believe in and pass on to her daughter.
on Jun 04, 2018
If you are a fan of behind-the-scenes info and/or you are a sick and twisted voyeur of sorts, than this book is for you.
on Feb 04, 2018
If you are a fan of Jim Florentine's irony-skewering comedy, this book is a guaranteed A+!
on Jan 09, 2018
Tero Ikäheimonen weaves together a timeline that reads almost like a blackened family tree.
on Dec 12, 2017
So, long story short, buy this book for the smart, humor-having metalhead in your life.
on Dec 11, 2017
Unlikely most Bowie biographies you will find, Bowie: The Illustrated Story captures Bowie's career through the end, including the aforementioned Blackstar album.
on Dec 11, 2017
Just in time for the 'xXxMas' season comes this seminal punk tome that is a true delight to read.
on Dec 09, 2017
With Willie Nelson: American Icon, you have yourself an inspiring, good-looking, historically-accurate piece of literature that may be hard to put down.
on Nov 30, 2017
If you are a hoarder of all things Frankenstein, this book via Reel Art Press is an essential addition to your collection.
on Nov 21, 2017

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.