ALL Movie Review

Live In Houston captures the super group Velvet Revolver in 2005 while the band was touring in support of their Grammy Award winning release Contraband. As a fan Velvet Revolver, and the previous projects of the individual band members, I was extremely excited to sit down and watch this DVD. Let me tell you it does not disappoint. I never had the opportunity to see Velvet Revolver in a live setting; damn did I miss a good thing.
on Nov 22, 2010
This newest installment of The Classic Albums Series takes in in-depth look at Rush and their two classic releases 2112 and Moving Pictures. Both of these records were influential in defining the progressive rock movement in the ‘70s and ‘80s. The trio of amazingly talented musicians, (Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart) has withstood the test if time and they have been releasing cutting edgem relevant material for more than three decades.
on Oct 18, 2010
Black Sabbath is hands down one of the most influential bands of all time. I dare say without their innovative and at times inventive style, metal as we know it wouldn't exist. I have been a fan of Sabbath for just about all of my life and when I was asked to review this I was more than happy to oblige. For the past year or so Eagle Rock has been releasing DVDs that go behind the scenes and document the making of some of the greatest albums ever.
on Sep 30, 2010
Dazzling, captivating and electrifying! That is the only way to explain the DVD that captures this legendary alternative band live on stage at the Voodoo Experience, Halloween Night, 2009. The reunited classic lineup of Perry Farrell, Stephen Perkins, Eric Avery and Dave Navarro are back and in top form as they play to a packed house in New Orleans. The set list is mostly drawn from the band's first two albums and includes some of their huge hits…
on Sep 24, 2010
For more than three decades Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have written and recorded music that is widely considered to be classic and iconic. Petty has one of the most recognizable voices in all of Rock and Roll past or present and this is the album that launched the band into the stratosphere. Tunes such as, “Refugee” and “Don’t Do Me Like That,” both come from the Damn The Torpedoes record and in my opinion they are two of the best classic rock songs of all time.
on Sep 16, 2010
15 years ago a metal band, who would later gain worldwide fame, was born from Alaska’s harsh tundra. Today, with four successful albums under their belt and a vast number of tours, 36 Crazyfists decided it was time to release their first DVD. Underneath A Northern Sky, a very appropriately named release, focuses beautiful Alaskan imagery. Music aside, this DVD is a testament to the band's love of their homeland and fans.
on Aug 26, 2010
8 Studio Albums, 1 Live Album, 2 Compilation Albums, 4 Extended Plays, 37 Splits and 4 Promos. That is the list of audio releases Fuck Of Facts have to date. With all that FTF decided it was time to release their first DVD Disgorge Mexico: The DVD. This release comes in two different parts; the being a live show and the second a movie.
on Jul 21, 2010
Attention metalcore fans all around the globe; The Acacia Strain have released their live DVD, which includes two live shows, and a tonne of extra goodies. When it comes to tearing apart the stage, or getting a massive circle pit going, nobody does it better than TAS. So when my boss sent me an email asking if anybody wanted to cover it, I nearly shat myself and jumped at the chance. Here you go, kiddies!
on Apr 14, 2010
I do not believe there has been anyone more immediately recognizable on the pop/punk rock scene than Billy Idol. His enigmatic persona and instantly familiar vocal delivery ruled the airwaves during the Eighties and early Nineties spawning numerous radio and video hits. I pretty much grew up listening to him and it was with great pleasure that I sat back, cracked a beer and watched this live DVD.
on Mar 24, 2010
CBGBs is synonymous with the punk movement and the New York City hardcore scene. It has long been the Mecca of the underground scene and is a venue that has achieved cult status. It is only fitting then that ever-popular New York City punk band Suicide City would be the band to play one of the final sows at the venue. This sold out show has been captured live from CBGB.
on Feb 25, 2010
Prejudice against a human is immoral and illegal, prejudice against DVDs however is merely frowned upon. My initial impression of this DVD, prior to putting the disc into my crap DVD player was something along the lines of “The artwork is really, really cool, but a concert DVD? This is going to be incredibly boring!”
on Jan 14, 2010
Bat Out Of Hell was released on October 21st 1977. Jim Steinman’s incredible song writing, Meat Loafs enigmatic stage presence and the production of Todd Rundgren proved to be a winning combination and the album eventually went on to become the third best selling album of all time, behind AC/DC’s Back In Black and Michael Jackson’s Thriller.
on Dec 22, 2009
Skullage is a tour de force DVD that provides incredible insight into one of Metal's most enigmatic axe shredders. Zakk Wylde started his career playing with Ozzy and indeed, for many years now he has been the driving force behind the legendary madman. However, Wylde has also been the heart on soul of his own project, Black Label Society, a straightforward...
on Dec 16, 2009
Recorded at the Wiltern in Los Angeles, California on March 28th 2008, Warpaint Live is a fantastic performance by The Black Crowes. This is a bit different from what I was expecting because the DVD does not contain any of the bands big hits or popular songs that I was familiar with. I was pleasantly surprised though, because eve though I was...
on Dec 10, 2009
Fans of the ZZ Top, the legendary rock band from the state of Texas, rejoice. Double Down Live is what I would consider a definitive must-have DVD for your collection. The music business is notoriously hard to survive in and many groups that manage to carry on almost always undergo some sort of personnel change throughout the years.
on Dec 08, 2009
If you haven’t heard of Finger Eleven, then you most likely live under a rock. Notably one of Canada’s finest, the band have released this tasty little DVD number. With over 2.5 hours of video footage and new music, it’s any Finger Eleven fan's dream come true.
on Nov 11, 2009
How many bands tour the world via their own customized plane these days? Less than you can count on two hands? Well, legendary English metallers Iron Maiden did just that in 2008. Flight 666 is the film which documents the band’s "Somewhere Back In Time Tour" which totaled 50,000 miles and five continents in 45 days doing 23 shows. The means of transport for this trek was Bruce Dickinson’s very own customized Boeing 757, Ed Force One. This plane carried the band, crew and 12 tons of stage equipment while being piloted by none other than its owner and the band’s vocalist, Bruce Dickinson.
on Oct 21, 2009
Working Class Rock Star is an advisory DVD for musicians of the metal variety to see what they are up against in becoming a 'rock star'. It features interviews with various people from prominent bands such as Lamb Of God, Arch Enemy, Strapping Young Lad and Bloodshoteye. There are nine informative sections to the DVD ranging from the financial/business aspect of a band, to ways to cope with hectic tour schedules and how balancing your time with a job, family and a band is not easy.
on Aug 07, 2009
My very first writing assignment for my university newspaper - all the way back in 2005 - was a review of a Russell Peters show. The comedian was performing on campus, and through the whole friend-of-a-friend-of-a-friend scenario, I managed to score the comped tickets to take in the show with a lovely young lady so long as I wrote about it. As such, it's fitting that my PGA Film section debut is a write-up on Peters' latest live CD/DVD, Red, White and Brown.…
on May 12, 2009
Fans of As I Lay Dying rejoice, This is Who We Are is the definitive DVD collection you have been waiting for. Packaged with three DVDs this box set is guaranteed to provide hours of viewing pleasure.
on Apr 28, 2009

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.