Broken Flesh – "Broken Flesh" [Album Review]

- Oct 07, 2015 at 11:11AM
Share this:
Band Links:
Rating: 6.6 out of 10
Yes, just what you need on a lazy Sunday morning – some face-mashing brutality from a Christian death metal band. Judging by the group's sound, as they blast through the likes of "Valley Of Mass Crucifixion" and "Cries Of The Dead," they're a stupidly-tight one but, having been peddling their Christianity-inspired carnage since 2004, Broken Flesh are also one that aren't going to reinvent the genre.

Instead, what you get for your money is a band who just blast through their material with consummate ease. Aside from the religious slant, Broken Flesh are no different to any other meat n' veg death metal band. Admittedly though their religious beliefs shouldn't come into it because, let's face it, they're just putting a positive slant on a theme the likes of Deicide have made an entire career out of ridiculing. Blast beats, gut-wrenching vocals and raging guitars, all standard death metal traits; and listening to "Forever In Flames" you're hearing the sound of a group who can churn this stuff out without a second thought.

The saving grace for Broken Flesh is that, while they may be another generic brutal death metal act, their crushing heaviness is delivered with such pinpoint accuracy that long-standing fans of the genre will find plenty on this self-titled offering to keep them headbanging long into the night.

Track Listing:

01. Valley Of Mass Crucifixion
02. Blood Harvest
03. Consumed By Death
04. Buried Alive
05. Hell
06. Cries Of The Dead
07. Forever In Flames
08. Unworthy
09. Exalt
10. Ignominy

Run Time: 34:55
Release Date: September 4, 2015

Check out the song "Consumed By Death" here.

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.