Six of Swords - "Polar Vortex" [EP] [Album Review]

- Feb 18, 2015 at 10:06AM
Share this:
Band Links:
Rating: 8.5 out of 10
Do you like your metal haunting, bludgeoning and sludge-ridden? Well Six of Swords brings all of this to the table, and takes it the extra mile by flaunting an effortless air that renders the writing and instrumentation almost virtuosic. All of this metallic magnificence is packed into their debut EP Polar Vortex—a compilation that is merely 4 tracks long, all about 4 minutes in length, yet so gripping it inevitably leaves the listener voraciously hungry for more.

The first track "Separation at the Seams," begins with rapid fire riffage and chant-along lyrics, slowly melting into a sludgy heaviness that is regularly met with liquid-quick soloing, swift drum-work, and bass licks for days. The rest of the songs follow suit, with hair-raising surprises scattered along the way.

Metalheads: take 15 minutes to appreciate this heavily-loaded EP, and support underground music in the process. Especially recommended for fans of Cannibal Corpse, Gojira, and Thy Art is Murder. Fresh off up and coming label Sorrow Carrier Records, this young Toronto band's EP will not disappoint.

Track Listing:

01. Separation at the Seams
02. Polar Vortex
03. Lock the Cell
04. Secular World

Run Time: 14:34
Release Date: February 23, 2015

Check out the song "Separation at the Seams".

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.