Skid Row - “Skid Row” (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) [Album Review]

- Jan 26, 2019 at 09:00AM
Share this:
Band Links:
Rating: 8 out of 10
As they say, “timing is everything.” Released originally in January 1989, the debut record from the New Jersey-based combo, Skid Row, arrived at the precise apex of the famed arena rock era. Overseen by renown producer, Michael Wagener (Dokken, Great White, White Lion), the self-titled slab ultimately would enjoy a massively successful three-month residency on the Billboard Top 200 album chart — peaking at #6 and spawning the now iconic classic rock staples, “Youth Gone Wild,” “I Remember You” and “18 And Life.”

To commemorate the record’s 30-year anniversary, Rhino Records has just released an impressive, deluxe edition of this multi platinum-selling set. Remastered for the first time, the original 11 tracks sparkle brighter than ever, and the inclusion of the oft missed, guitar-driven bonus track, “Forever” is an additional treat.

More than a mere remastered reissue, this expanded 22-song edition also features ten previously unreleased tracks, recorded live at the Marquee Club in Westminster, California during the band’s 1989 U.S. tour — the first-ever release of a full live Skid Row show. This raucous, high-energy performance showcases guitarists Dave Sabo and Scottie Hill, bassist Rachel Bolan, drummer Rob Affuso and frontman Sebastian Bach in their gloriously unabashed, sweaty, shirtless, golden-coiffed prime. The live track list mirrors the studio version of the record somewhat faithfully — with the addition of the fist-pumping, set-closing remake of the 1974 KISS classic, “Cold Gin.”

In sum, the deluxe 30th anniversary edition of this much-loved chart-buster certainly will be a must-have treasure for misfit kids from burned-out towns far and wide.

Hair flips and all, Skid Row’s “Youth Gone Wild” is still mega rad!

Skid Row (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) Track Listing:

01. Big Guns - 3:38
02. Sweet Little Sister - 3:10
03. Can't Stand The Heartache - 3:25
04. Piece Of Me - 2:49
05. 18 And Life - 3:52
06. Rattlesnake Shake - 3:09
07. Youth Gone Wild - 3:19
08. Here I Am - 3:10
09. Makin' A Mess - 3:39
10. I Remember You - 5:15
11. Midnight/Tornado - 4:20
12. Forever (Bonus) - 4:05
13. Makin' A Mess (Live) - 4:12
14. Piece Of Me (Live) - 3:07
15. Big Guns (Live) - 4:07
16. 18 And Life (Live) - 3:49
17. Sweet Little Sister (Live) - 3:56
18. Rattlesnake Shake (Live) - 3:43
19. I Remember You (Live) - 5:56
20. Here I Am (Live) - 5:34
21. Youth Gone Wild (Live) - 4:28
22. Cold Gin (Live) - 4:53

Run Time 88 minutes
Release Date January 18, 2019
Record Label Rhino Records
Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.