Sweet & Lynch - "Unified" [Album Review]

- Dec 13, 2017 at 05:51PM
Share this:
Band Links:
Rating: 8 out of 10
As a rock and roll fan and product of the '80s, both Michael Sweet (of Stryper) and George Lynch (of Dokken) have been in my wheelhouse for decades now. I literally grew up listening to them and have been a fan of both bands over the years.

In my opinion, this is a fantastic combo; Lynch, is one of the better guitarists to come out of the big hair genre and has an unmistakable sound and style. Combined with Sweet, who as far as I am concerned is the king of melodic heavy metal vocals, results in a terrific melodic hard rock/metal record that is sure to please fans of either of their respective bands. The group is rounded out by bassist James Lomenzo (ex-Megadeth, White Lion, Black Label Society) and drummer Brian Tichy (The Dead Daisies, ex-Whitesnake).

This is the duo’s sophomore release and they are definitely firing on all cylinders and open with, what I feel might be, the best song on the record. “Promise Land” sets the tone for the remainder of the album which ebbs and flows with a mixture of high energy, balls-out rockers and toned-down, lighters-in-the-air, ballads. No matter what the tempo though, Sweet’s vocals rise to the occasion and are the perfect complement to Lynch's riffing.

At the end of the day, you cannot go wrong with a lineup as talented and as seasoned as this. The proof is in the pudding, so to speak, and Unified is a really solid listen.

Unified Track Listing:

01. Promised Land
02. Walk
03. Afterlife
04. Make Your Mark
05. Tried & True
06. Unified
07. Find Your Way
08. Heart Of Fire
09. Bridge Of Broken Lies
10. Better Man
11. Live To Die

Run Time: 50:19
Release Date: November 10, 2017

Share this:



Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.