ALL Reviews

Lords of Chaos is Jonas Åkerlund’s entertaining look at the raw, violent and bizarre birth of true Norwegian black metal in the late 1980’s, out now via Century Media.
on Feb 27, 2019
Talk Talk vocalist Mark David Hollis has passed away. His emotional vocals have been described as haunting and impassioned. Now, in the wake of his untimely death, we are left behind with a body of work that can be described with the same two words.
on Feb 26, 2019
It’s a new year and Chef Danny P. is finally back with new episodes of Baker’s Dozen! So, with the cold weather sticking around, warm up with the “Quebecois Kush Breakfast Sandwich”!
on Feb 26, 2019
Temple of Skies, the debut album from Idaho’s Tempestarii, is less an album than the exorcism of a malignant spirit - an unsettling, dynamic and ritualistic showcase of atmospheric black metal.
on Feb 25, 2019
While the term “mature” hardly suits My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult’s creative content, their latest album, In the House of Strange Affairs, could perhaps be described as “accomplished” in terms of their musical evolution up to this point.
on Feb 25, 2019
Pkew Pkew Pkew continue to build on their strong run of solid-yet-safe punk rock with their new record, Optimal Lifestyles, out March 1st on Dine Alone Records.
on Feb 25, 2019
Described as "the UK's angriest new metal band", Climate Of Fear are about to unleash their new album The Onset Of Eternal Darkness on March 1st so we had a chat to the band about the inspiration behind their pissed-off sound.
on Feb 25, 2019
Simply put, The Fallen Entities (out now via High Roller Records) is missing hooks, tasty riffs and a punch in the gut. It’s not to say that Opprobrium have “phoned it in,” but there’s not a lot of substance here.
on Feb 22, 2019
The last few years have been dark and traumatic for Harrogate hardcore band Blood Youth, judging by the gut-wrenching honesty of their new album Starve. Read our review here.
on Feb 21, 2019
Catch Prichard, an up-and-coming indie singer-songwriter from the U.S., pays homage to his influences such as Leonard Cohen on Utter Disbelief. Unfortunately, we wish he would have done a little more to stand out for himself.
on Feb 20, 2019
Badflower's debut album, OK, I'm Sick, is set for release this week so, in the latest episode of Stereo Six, the band revealed some of the 'sick' bands inspiring their music.
on Feb 20, 2019
Florida based non-profit organization To Write Love on Her Arms helps raises awareness for mental health issues by lending team member Chad Moses, a ten year vet with group, for a Top 10 list of the things he’s learned about mental health while working at festivals.
on Feb 19, 2019
On Helix (Sharptone Records), by dabbling in new elements from other subgenres, Crystal Lake continue to broaden their songwriting scope to deliver exciting music built on an energetically-charged metalcore foundation.
on Feb 19, 2019
Sludgecore leviathans Mastiff pick six of the albums that inspired the filth soaked sound on their recent album Plague. Find out what they picked here.
on Feb 19, 2019
Alexisonfire just dropped their newest song in almost a decade; give that a minute to fully sink in, and then check out our review of “Familiar Drugs”, out now via Dine Alone Records.
on Feb 18, 2019
Swedish black/death metal quartet Diabolical have been plying their trade for nearly 25 years now, so does their fifth offering, Eclipse, see them straying from their well-trodden path? Read our review to find out.
on Feb 18, 2019
While not being a gamechanger, Dark Dive, the new album from Portuguese metallic hardcore band Push!, packs enough punch and mosh to keep the hardened metallic hardcore fan happy.
on Feb 16, 2019
Steel Panther transported the ecstatic crowd at London, UK’s The Roundhouse back to the ‘80s for a night full of inappropriate jokes, boobs, and good old-fashioned rock n’ roll. What more could one want on a Sunday before the reality of Monday morning comes around again?
on Feb 15, 2019
Millencolin deliver an enjoyable, but sadly underwhelming, album in SOS (Epitaph Records). It’s punk rock through and through, but beyond that, not much else.
on Feb 15, 2019
Northern Ireland’s Jealous of the Birds, aka Naomi Hamilton, joins us fresh off the release of the Wisdom Teeth EP, to list her favourite gender progressive artists as part of our Women of Rock series.
on Feb 14, 2019

Newsletter

Want our content delivered to your mailbox? Subscribe for updates.